The National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy (NCFAP) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) research and professional education organization.  NCFAP coordinates and conducts objective, non-advocacy research, analysis, and education to inform the public about food, agriculture, natural resources, environmental quality, and rural economic issues.

NCFAP was founded in 1984 with a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, and incorporated in 1991.  Since 2016 NCFAP has functioned as a virtual think tank.  NCFAP minimizes overhead by having no paid staff.  By virtue of its decades-long presence in our nation’s capital, the National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy has unique access to data, expertise, and national policy leaders.

NCFAP leverages existing research and educational institutions.  Through partnerships with a network of scholars and experts at universities, federal agencies, and other institutions, it conducts primary surveys, accesses the most appropriate data, and prepares state-of-the-art analyses of the issues at hand.  NCFAP Trustees, Fellows, and their collaborators publish and present the research findings to inform choices or policy.  NCFAP also designs and conducts workshops and training programs, especially for food and agriculture industry professionals around the world.

Board of Trustees

Stanley Johnson, NCFAP Board Chair – Emeritus Professor, former Director of the Center for Agriculture and Rural Development (CARD), and former Vice-Provost for Extension, Iowa State University.

Christopher Goldthwait – Board Vice-Chair, U.S. Ambassador to Chad (1991-1999), Former General Sales Manager, USDA Foreign Agriculture Service.

Mary AhearnCouncil of Food, Agriculture, and Resource Economics (C-FARE); formerly Economic Research Service, USDA.

Harold Birch – Executive Vice President, Family Farms Group

Mark Drabenstott – Consultant; Former Director of the Center for Study of Rural America.

Joseph A. Dunn – Professor and Associate Dean for Research, D’Youville College. Formerly Deputy Undersecretary,  USDA-REE.

William H. Meyers – Emeritus Professor, University of Missouri.

Bobby Moser – Formerly Dean of the College of Food, Agricultural, Environment, Ohio State University.

Denise Swink – CEO, Smart Manufacturing Leadership Coalition (2007); Senior Advisor US Resilience Project



The National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy (NCFAP) adheres to current Federal Regulations (§200.413) concerning the indirect cost recovery rate that NCFAP charges project sponsors. That regulation limits non-federal entities to a de minimis rate of 10% of modified total direct costs. For the full text of the Federal Register, see:Federal Register §200.413

how can we help you?

Get in touch with the National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy

1101 Pennsylvania Ave NW Suite 300
Washington, DC 20004
Phone: [202] 429-8422

Dr. Harry Baumes, C.E.O.

Dr. Stanley R. Johnson, Chairman of the Board